aesma daeva
here lies one...
the eros of...

here lies one...
the eros of...

biography of the band
media coverage
main site

Here Lies One, Whose Name Was Written In Water

Recorded, mixed, released - 1998/1999
Originally released under the Acsension label, now under The Root of All Evil

Track Listing

1. O Death (Rock Me Asleep)
2. Downvain
3. Stay
4. Disdain
5. Introit I
6. When I Have Fears That I May Cease To Be
7. Luceat Eis
8. Introit II
9. Communion
10. Sanctus
11. Darkness
12. Darkness (Stromkern)


Aesma Daeva's first released recording "Here Lies One, Whose Name Was Written In Water" is for all intents and purposes, something you've probably never heard before and something you won't be able to forget once you hear it. The recording itself is separated into three parts.

Part One "A Quiet Chamber Kept for Thee" is anything but quiet, this is Aesma Daeva's hardest four songs on the CD, melding together grinding guitars, staccato bass drums, and otherworldly vocals into some of the most original, and best, metal/darkwave music I have ever heard. Rebecca Cords' ultimately serene operatic vocals share the fore with driving electronica and heavy guitar/drum segments, which admittedly took me a bit to get used to, but after I was able to sit down and just absorb the music I started to realize just how masterfully arranged and sounding it was.

Part Two "Here Lies One Whose Name Was Written In Water" is where the album slows down a bit into a lot of chanting, acoustic guitar work, and subdued melodies...which is a HUGE jump from the adrenaline pumped first section, but again is truly inspired work. "When I Have Fears That I May Cease To Be" is just...amazing, the lyrics were originally penned by the long dead, and long revered poet John Keats (as are the lyrics in "Sanctus") and the way that Cords sings, and the masterful guitar work resounds, is a thing of true beauty. Truly, putting poetry to music more often than not ruins a once beloved piece, but Aesma Daeva's work with classical literature makes me wish that all poetry was song.

Part Three really isn't a "part" per se, but it includes two bonus tracks which are re-arrangements of the song "Downvain" that are more industrial dance bits. While they really don't fit into the continuity of the album, they are good upbeat tunes worth a listen.

Many people might look at a darkwave/metal/classical music style as a bit complicated for their tastes, but truly, one HAS to listen to this CD more than once, twice even, to realize the full scope of the record. There is just some unquantifiable quality of this CD that makes me want to listen to it over and over and over and over again. Trust me, you won't go wrong buying this album.

copyright, all rights reserved